as fast as middle aged legs can muster

It’s been 13 years since I became a fully unadulterated freelancer, and, had I had a better business brain, then I think I would have spotted a pattern in the ebb and flow of the work I am doing. But I don’t have one and – rather like the goldfish of urban myth – am continually surprised by where and how I am working….and slightly surprised that I continue to work full stop as the squeeze on the funding for arts in all its guises is ongoing. So as stated in the previous blog…after a very full on end to 2014, where I was running from lego workshop to broadcast edit suite as fast as middle aged legs can muster it all stopped rather abruptly for what in freelance terms felt like an eternity.

But it did pick up again….as I completed the film for Education Scotland about their Creative catalyst project. Then with some summer schools for Lochwinnoch’s Local Energy Action Plan, then with a film featuring the Medieval drain under Paisley Abbey. Finally I made a filmed report for the Co-operative Party for their conference, for which they professed themselves to be very pleased.

In amongst all this, and in the absence of anything recognisable as career development, I try and set myself little challenges within projects…for the Education Scotland Project I wanted a more polished look to the interviews, for the work on the Abbey I got my hands on a slider. This latter bit of kit proved particularly useful, as, after all, it was, at the end of the day, a drain. Albeit a very nice one. As a little aside, whilst researching sliders and their uses, I discovered that one shouldn’t cut two slider shots together as this is a bit showy and gets in the way of the story…thankfully I read that after I made this or I may have taken it to heart.

With some support from Hopscotch, I’ve also been trying to get a film about older people with learning disabilities off the ground. As ever it is of course an uphill struggle…I’ve shot a couple of tasters so far which have raised a number of ethical questions not least to say questions around style and storytelling. Many of the people in the home that I have been visiting in pursuit of this project can’t communicate in ways that lend themselves easily to conventional interviewing techniques. Nevertheless they have experiences and stories that are important to be told. I would like to say watch this space, but realistically it’s more likely to be ask me again in a couple of years!

Leave a Reply

